How to Delete or Deactivate a User in Ninety
If a user no longer needs access to Ninety, you can either deactivate or delete their profile from the Directory.
Deactivating users
Deactivating a user changes their user role to Inactive. Follow these steps to deactivate a user:
Click Directory from the left navigation.
Find the user (you may need to search for them first), then click the ⋯ (more) icon at the end of their row.
Click Deactivate.
Optional: To lower your license count in the same step, check Remove license linked to this user. This checkbox appears for Owners and Admins on paid plans.
Click Deactivate user to confirm.
You can also click the user's name to open their profile panel, then click the ⋯ (more) icon at the top of the panel. Changing the user's Role access to Inactive opens the same confirmation.
Result: Their name is still on the Directory, and they're visible as an option for Seats on the Accountability Chart. You can reassign their license or change your license count. They can no longer sign in to Ninety.
Deleting users
Deleting a user completely removes them from your account, so they will no longer have a login and will be removed from the Directory. Follow these steps to delete a user:
Click Directory from the left navigation.
Find the user (you may need to search for them first), then click the ⋯ (more) icon at the end of their row.
Click Delete user.
Click Delete user to confirm.
You can also click the user's name to open their profile panel, then click the ⋯ (more) icon at the top of the panel.
Result: Their name is removed from the Directory completely. You can reassign their license or change your license count.
What happens to a deleted or deactivated user's content?
All incomplete items (Rocks, To-Dos, Issues, and Headlines) remain on the team it's assigned to, so other team members can reassign them. All archived content will remain in the archive still owned by the previous user.
Frequently asked questions
Can a deleted user be restored?
Yes, but only by Ninety's support team. Contact support with the person's name and the email address they used in Ninety, and we can restore their profile. If your company is on a paid plan, the restored user's seat is added back to your subscription, and you're charged a prorated amount for the rest of your billing period. Companies on the Free plan aren't charged.
